The Norfolk Record Society (NRS) is a registered charity (no 249331) founded in 1930 to encourage the study and preservation of Norfolk records and to publish editions of documents relating to the history of the county.

Our governing body is the Council (its members constituting the Trustees of the charity), and it has full decision-making authority on behalf of the charity’s members. The trustees are all volunteers.

Officers of the Society



  • Sir Richard Jewson, KCVO, JP, MA, DCL

Vice Presidents:

  • Lady Dannatt MBE, HM Lord Lieutenant for Norfolk
  • The Most Hon. the Marquess Townshend of Raynham
  • The Right Reverend Graham Usher, Bishop of Norwich
  • Sir Nicholas Bacon Bt, OBE, DL
  • Sir Henry Paston-Bedingfeld Bt
  • M. J. Sayer BLitt, MA, FSA
  • Prof. R. G. Wilson, BA, PhD, FRHistS

The Council (Trustees of Society):

  • Dr J. H. Agnew, BA, PhD (Hon. Editor, Early Modern)
  • Dr J. R. Alban, BA, PhD, DAA, RMARA, FHA, FSA, FRHistS
  • Mr J. Draper, BA, PgDip
  • Mr C. W. Farrow, FInstLEx
  • Dr J. A. Halcomb, BS, MPhil, PhD (Chairman)
  • Mr K. D. Harper-Allison, MHort (RHS), MCIHort, FLS (Hon. Treasurer)
  • Dr E Hartrich, MA, DPhil, FHEA
  • Prof. A. C. Howe, MA, DPhil, FRHistS (Hon. Editor, Modern)
  • Sir R. Jewson, KCVO, JP, MA, DCL
  • Dr G. A. Metters, MA, PhD, PGCE, DMS, FHA, FRHistS (Hon. Secretary)
  • Mr P. T. R. Palgrave Moore, BA, FSA, FSG
  • Prof. C. Rawcliffe, BA, PhD, FSA, FRHistS (Hon. Editor, Medieval)
  • Mrs E. J. Rutledge, LLB
  • Mr P. J. R. Stibbons, BD, PGCE
  • Mr G. W. Tuson, BA, DAA

Annual Reports and Finances

We report annually to the Charity Commission. Our accounts are independently examined and formally adopted at the Annual General Meeting.

We produce a Trustees’ Report and Financial Statements annually, which are made available to our membership and other interested parties and are available on our website.

Constitution (Governing Document)

Society Policies

Charity Commission for England and Wales

Deposits at the Norfolk Record Office